To book tickets to our events please follow this link: https://fashion-museum-blandford.arttickets.org.uk/

Please note: We do not have a lift. Apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment this may cause. We are working on trying to raise funds to make our Grade II listed building more accessible for future events. If you would like to attend one of in person events and have mobility issues please email fashionmuseumblandford@gmail.com

Anya Glinski: Fashion History Lecture 1780-1805

Anya Glinski will be giving us a detailed look at the fashion of that last two decades of the 18th Century, as the opulent Rococo styles made way for neo-classical elegance. This will be the first in a series of three lectures.

12th March 2024 2pm at The Blandford Fashion Museum

Ticket prices: £15 Adult Ticket, £12 Members/ Volunteers/ Seniors/Students, £10 per lecture if all 3 Anya Glinski lectures are booked

Tickets here: https://www.artfund.org/explore/events/2024/03/12/anya-glinski-fashion-history-lecture-1780-1805

We will be hosting 3 lectures from Anya Glinski this year (see below for details of the other two). If you would like to come to all three you can block book here for £30= £10 per lecture : https://fashion-museum-blandford.arttickets.org.uk/blandford-fashion-museum/2024-03-12-anya-glinski-3-lectures-reduced-price

Paula Harmon: Dressed for Detection

Paula Harmon has published a number of historical mysteries. The Caster & Fleet series (co-written with Liz Hedgecock) is set in the 1890s. The Margaret Demeray series is set in the 1910s. In both series, the main female characters- on differenet incomes- want to follow the preveiling fashions, but still have to solve mysteries and tackle crime. Would their clothes hinder them? Or would it be perfectly possible to manage, corsets and all?

Using information and images from her research, including fun facts, Paula will talk about what her characters might have worn and how they might have got around any inconvenience their clothes might have posed. From remodelled ball-dresses to cycling outfits to suffragette regalia, via corsets, swimsuits and hatpins- come and meet Katherine, Connie and Margaret as they dress to detect.

27th March 2024 2pm at The Blandford Fashion Museum

Ticket prices: £15 Adult Ticket, £12 Members/ Volunteers/ Seniors/Students

Book here: https://www.artfund.org/explore/events/2024/03/27/dressed-for-detection


Anya Glinski: Fashion History Lecture 1805-1825

The second in our series of lectures from Anya Glinski, this talk will focus on the elegant neo-classical fashions of the Regency and the shift towards the Romantic styles of the 1820s.

A must for fans of Jane Austen, Bridgerton and Gentleman Jack!

23rd April 2024 2pm at The Blandford Fashion Museum

Ticket prices: £15 Adult Ticket, £12 Members/ Volunteers/ Seniors/Students

Book here: https://fashion-museum-blandford.arttickets.org.uk/blandford-fashion-museum

The Hidden Life of Clothing: Historical Perspectives on Fashion and Sustainability with Rachel Worth

Since the democratisation of the clothing industry in the early 19th century, buyers have become increasingly disconnected from the creative and human aspects of the production of clothing. Arguably clothing is now valued less for its aesthetic qualities or because of the hours spent in its making, but more for the extent to which it serves current ‘fashion’.

In a climate of increasing anxiety about the environmental and social impact of the contemporary global fashion industry, Rachel Worth suggests that, rather than seeking solutions only in the present, looking to history can assist in understanding better the challenges consumers face today in making decisions about the contents of their wardrobes, which, in turn, will impact on the nature of the future global fashion industry.

15th May 2024 2pm at The Blandford Fashion Museum

Tickets: £15/£12

Book Here:https://fashion-museum-blandford.arttickets.org.uk/blandford-fashion-museum


Anya Glinski: Fashion History Lecture 1825-1840

The third talk in our series with lecturer Anya Glinski, this talk will focus on shift in fashions from the end of the reign of George IV, through the reign of William IV to the early years of Queen Victoria’s reign.

4th June 2024 2pm at The Blandford Fashion Museum

Ticket prices: £15 Adult Ticket, £12 Members/ Volunteers/ Seniors/Students

Book here: https://fashion-museum-blandford.arttickets.org.uk/blandford-fashion-museum